During this year’s Tatra Summit, the GLOBSEC European Award, presented annually to celebrate and honour unwavering dedication to strengthening Europe, and promoting growth and progress, was awarded to the Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA), Dr. Fatih Birol.

In bestowing this award, GLOBSEC recognises and celebrates the tireless work done by Dr. Birol and the IEA in mitigating the impact of the energy crisis. The award was presented in the presence of the Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic, Eduard Heger.

By continuously monitoring the global energy market and providing vital analysis and advice to its members and the EU, and by promoting the strengthening of investments in clean energy and energy efficiency, the IEA has significantly helped to mitigate the impact of Russia’s invasion on the European energy market. I am therefore honoured that we could pay respect and thanks to Dr. Birol and the IEA during this year’s Tatra Summit, the key topic of which is also mitigating the impact of the energy crisis on countries in our region,” said the president of GLOBSEC, Róbert Vass.

The GLOBSEC Business Award was presented to Mr. Thierry Déau, Founding Partner and Chief Executive Officer of Meridiam. The GLOBSEC Business Award is awarded annually at the GLOBSEC Tatra Summit to honour the leading figures who significantly shape the European business community.

We recognize the exceptional talent, energy and creativity of the business leaders who drive innovation and competition in Europe. Through this award, we want to show our maximum support, respect and admiration for the business community and its contribution to upholding the European values ​​on the global stage,” added Róbert Vass, president of GLOBSEC.

Meridiam is an independent investment company that has been recently transformed into a charitable organization. It specializes in the development, financing and management of long-term and sustainable infrastructure projects with the belief that the alignment of interests between the public and private sectors can provide critical solutions for the collective needs of communities.

Both laureates received the awards in person at Štrbské Pleso during the 11th annual Tatra Summit. Past awardees include Angel Gurrfa, Kristalina Georgieva, Bruno Le Maire, Donald Tusk and Wolfgang Schauble.

This year’s Tatra Summit, focused on Defining Europe’s Future, is taking place between the 7th and  9th  of October. It convenes at a crucial time with more than 200 public figures, global and business leaders meeting in person to address current economic issues, including the impact of the looming recession on the region, Europe’s energy autonomy and security, and CEE innovation, notwithstanding other pressing challenges.

Among the most prominent guests are Mathias Cormann, Secretary General of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD); Kadri Simson, Commissioner for Energy, European Commission; Riccardo Puliti, Vice President for Infrastructure, World Bank; and Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency.